Episode 49: The Return of The Amazing Aloha

Taken from Jollibee’s Facebook page

The Amazing Aloha is back! Jollibee has relaunched this special, nostalgia-inducing burger variety once enjoyed by patrons many years ago.

…is how I wanted to start talking about the Amazing Aloha. Seriously, it’s been a long time – ten, fifteen years ago? – when I last ate this burger. It’s a part of my childhood, to say the least, which is why I became excited when the Amazing Aloha became available in stores again.

First, a little history: the Amazing Aloha’ is a sandwich of two beef patties, pineapple, cheese, bacon, and lettuce, a unique combination back in the day. BusinessWeek once named Jollibee’s Amazing Aloha one of “The World’s Most Original Burgers”. Sadly, it got phased out and faded into obscurity as a ’90s legend of sorts.

Filipino netizens went abuzz weeks ago after Anthony Bourdain had some of Jollibee’s products during his visit to Los Angeles’ Koreatown in an episode of his show on CNN, “Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown.”

Tony tried out Jollibee’s halo-halo (we never had that here, as far as I remember), which had red and white beans, Jell-O, chick peas, coconut, shaved ice and leche flan. “It makes no goddamn sense at all but I love it,” he said. He also described the Amazing Aloha as “a very tasty burger.”

It’s one thing to see Tony enjoy a bit of Filipino fastfood culture, but the Amazing Aloha, a legend from our childhood, was different. Soon enough, netizens clamored for Jollibee to bring the burger back. Today (May 15), Jollibee announced that it is selling the burger “for a limited time,” and came up with the Twitter hashtag #AmazingAlohaisBack for those who want to proclaim the good news.

So once again, I forsake my oath to avoid fastfood to try out the Amazing Aloha all over again.

The Amazing Aloha looked just as I remember it: bun, cheese sauce-thing, patty, cheese patty, lettuce, sauce, pineapple ring, bacon bits, bun. It’s just as big as the usual Jollibee premium burger (that, or I’ve become a big eater).

The first thing I noticed in the current Amazing Aloha is the thick, juicy patty. The cheesy sauce had that tangy hint in it. The pineapple was a bit smaller from what I remember (again, must be my biggie-sized appetite talking). I almost didn’t notice the cheese slice and the thin sheet of lettuce. Overall, it has the meaty goodness of a classic Jollibee burger, with the blending of pineapple-sweet-and-sour and cheesy-meaty-rich hitting your taste buds all at the same time.

What else can I say? I found this burger to be so good I bought two and had one for breakfast the next day.

It’s definitely a good move for Jollibee to revive the Amazing Aloha even for a short time. Not only is it as tasty as it was when it first came hot off the grill years ago, but it also makes for a good, nostalgia-laden conversation piece.

In hindsight, I guess the hype over Tony eating an Amazing Aloha also helped propel its popularity, so his Filipino fans will surely want to taste it and talk about this too. It’s nice to see someone like him help shape the Filipino food culture.

Which makes me think, how would Tony react if he comes back to the Philippines and spots the Filipino Amazing Aloha? Also, I wonder which of the dozens of halo-halo varieties here will he like. Chowking’s, maybe?

One thought on “Episode 49: The Return of The Amazing Aloha

  1. Danny Kally June 1, 2013 / 2:31 am

    May be for Halo Halo I will recomend him the Razons Halo Halo

    Like

Leave a Reply

