Episode 61: So Much To Eat, So Little Time to Write About Them

Despite 2013 being an exciting year for foodies, with Filipino food in the spotlight and all the trends coming around, I haven’t been too active as far as my food writing is concerned. That’s because I had very little time to work on the blog since I was quite preoccupied with a lot of things, like straight hours at work, household chores, and battling Asgardians, among others.

Admittedly, life for me has been “work first, errands afterwards” for the past few months. I’m lucky enough to be able to spend some time during weekend afternoons for my blog, though lately, I‘ve devoted more time to the books I’m writing.

This doesn’t mean I stopped doing food raids. In fact, throughout the year, I was able to visit several new food spots, but I never got around posting about them.

1. Dimsum Break – This place at SM City North EDSA Annex became the source of my quick fix for my dimsum cravings. My favorites were the spiced eggs and the various steamed dumplings. I’m interested in the fact that dimsum is now being marketed not only as a side dish or an accompaniment to wine, but as a main course.  Unfortunately, I got too busy that I forgot.

2. Shawarma Snack Center – One of the favorite Middle-Eastern cuisine restaurants in the Malate area, Shawarma Snack Center (which opened in 1985) claims to be the first to introduce the shawarma to the Filipino market. I’ve tried only the shawarma, but I hope to dine there again and try their other dishes, if I can figure out how to make time to go to Manila first.

3. Mister Kebab – This is where I had my first encounter with Persian food. I frequently ordered the lamb biryani. Unfortunately, something happened (I came and went and nobody bothered to give me a menu for over fifteen minutes) and I stopped eating there until recently. Again, I will need more time to work on this post.

4. Chakra Café (The Third Eye Wellness Center) – Finding Chakra Café was accidental. I came to The Third Eye Wellness Center at Bonifacio Global City to try out one of their free healing sessions. It took me an hour or so of driving under the rain to find the place, so being able to dine there was a relief. I ordered their mushroom lasagna (supposedly good for the root and solar plexus chakras), and raw juice (root and heart) for lunch, which somehow made me feel like my healing abilities increased or something. Incidentally, the healer who tended to me said that if I get drowsy any time after my session, it means God is using His healing powers on me. I’m glad that God is working on healing me, except I wish He didn’t do it while I was driving in the middle of EDSA! 

5. King Katsu – This place follows a long line of katsu establishments in the metropolis. The food here is more affordable. They serve one of those Japanese Kirin Beers. Also, the mascot kinda reminds me of Gilgamesh from Fate/Zero. 

6. Yumi’s Taiyaki – This would be the first time I would try taiyaki, that fish-shaped Japanese sweet snack. At P40 a piece, it’s quite filling (I got three of them). 

7. Roku – Discovering this restaurant was accidental too. I was visiting Gelene, an online friend and fellow writer, when I spotted it. She sort of recommended the place, so off we went to have dinner there. I ordered their basic signature miso ramen, while she got a katsudon. I promised her that I’ll be back for a second raid, but driving from Novaliches to Diliman had become too strenuous for me.

I intend to make a proper food review again probably this January. The thing is, I also promised to work on writing my book full-time. So does this mean you’ll be seeing less of Unlimited Grub Grabs? Nah.
Leave a Reply

